The Year of the Gherkin………….

Standard

So I’ve just finished reading the Year of the Gherkin by James Dobson.

What can I say about this book? It’s very honest. And probably based on a real character. Who is incidentally a real knobhead. and shallow to boot.

It’s a Bridget Jones’ Diary, South African version. But the main character is a prat who lives in Cape Town. Shallow and up to his eyeballs in debt. It’s written very simply but I think it’s clever in that it portrays a lot of the real South Africa. Hectic too think there are people like that, but there you go….I think a lot of South Africans are filled with a sense of entitlement. Although, I’m generalizing across the board. Have a read. You’ll laugh, I promise.

See picture below:

Leave a Reply

