The one about the bitches in boarding school…..

Standard

Don’t you hate it when someone gives you an indirectly cold shoulder? You know you’ve done something and you can’t think what?

It’s funny in some way and it takes me back to boarding school days. You know when you’re in std 7 and you and your BFF have a tiff. Then she very pointedly takes her plate of food, with nose in the air, and sits with someone you don’t really like. No words spoken, but battle lines have been drawn. Then it’s the quickest to get everybody to takes sides. The winner is the one who has drawn more people to her side. eg more people hanging around her laughing at her stories and jokes while the other is hopefully, sitting on their own, minus friends.

 That’s a sign of a true victory. You happy and surrounded by friends and the estranged BFF cowering on her own with feigned indifference. Kids, especially teenagers, can be cruel. I must say the older we got, the less those kind of things happened. We sort of settled into a good rhythm in std 8, 9 and matric.

For me hostel was lovely. You always had friends to talk to. I remember going to the loo in matric at 2am one night, and there sat 3 girls curled up on the novilon in the bathroom, bitching about their lives. ‘coz, you know, you’re fked up when you’re in your teens. So I remember sitting down and and joining the conversation. And we shared problems that night and solutions and heavy stuff. Hurtful, painful and deep things. You’re thrown in with a bunch of girls, mostly from good, stable families, in the same boat as you. Hormones coursing through your veins. Same controversial, rebellious outlook on life.

I think that’s why I have such sympathy for teenagers. It’s an awesome yet also crappy time in your life. Your whole life feels off kilter.

All those things you read in Spud are true. The pecking order in the dormitory. The nerdy, gross person osterisized. The bully’s leading and laying down the law. Spud being teased and crying. I feel a bit like Spud. (a girl Spud) ‘coz I wasn’t nerdy and I wasn’t rebellious. And my folks drove an old clapped Opel Kadett. (at the time I didn’t care though). I was a middle of the road child, LOVED English, loved reading. So I love the Spud books, takes me back, to those days.

Did you know that the 4th Spud is being released soon, In August I think?

I’m quiet excited. You see, they make me laugh. And as you know, I LOVE LAUGHING.

laters baby…..

One response »

Leave a Reply

