end of the year salti crax……

Standard

Great that Summer has shown her face for more than 3 days. Another stunning sunny day.

So horray (I hate the word hurrah), for warm weather and the promise of lazy days in the pool, sundowners, sunburn and cheerful dispositions. and of course work in between.

Jingle bell rock, the smell of pine shedding on my new carpet (well, newish), the promise of a holiday for two weeks away from the same mundane-ness. I love everyone around me, but it’s great to have a break. To just re-group, chill and smell the sea. Those of you that live close to the sea, probably don’t realise the healing properties of the sea, I suppose just as I don’t realise the full healing properties of wide open spaces, our view of the valleys and mountains in the distance, of thorn trees and aloes, of blesbuck and Cape Vultures.

I’ve stagnated a bit on the Christmas present front and need to get my backside into gear.

One of my mom’s friends, adult children have discovered that their child is cerebral palsy. My mom is now the expert and is telling me what she told the friend about all the stages  I went through. You know, when you discover the cerebral palsy thaannnng. Well, I must say, I never knew I went through all those stages. If you detect an underlining undercurrent of annoyance, yes, you’d be correct! It’s still a raw emotional thing for us and remembering that time in the black whole of Calcutta (do you remember Auburn Alice?) is sort of stepping over private unchartered territory. surmising and bringing it up may result in a snapping puffadder. (that’s assuming puffadders could snap)

Although I didn’t snap, I courteously ended the phone call and moved on.

One month until I’m on holiday.

Yay for me!

 

4 responses »

  1. Just a suggestion … Why don’t you write a post for ignorant idiots like me… Most F.A.Q about cerebral palsy / what not to say to a mother of a child with cerebral palsy/ how to be a good friend to a family with a child who has cerebral palsy? The IF community has done something similar and it helped a lot. Feel free to tell me to mind my own business. Enjoy your holiday!!

    • Hi Cat, school thaaaang still in progress. Molls went for an assessment on Monday. always so emotionally draining. When I have the energy to talk about it will write a blog post. Just feel that I’m always moaning. Molls getting her results on Tuesday from the Doctor. The no speaking thing may be a bit of a problem. I don’t if your’e a praying person, but if you are, please think of her and say a little pray that all goes smoothly and she gets accepted. I need this break so much. It will just give me direction.

      I’m someone that needs direction.

Leave a Reply

