Is that a candy cane? Or are you just happy to see me?

Standard

Why have I not written on my blog for a while?

I actually can’t answer that, except to say that I truly haven’t felt like it.

My energy has been focused on doing all the end of term stuff for Aidan’s school. Getting his boarding school stuff ready. Feel really sad and glad at the same time. Will elaborate on that later.

Taking Molly for her assessments. That in itself is sucking all the life out of me. But we are making progress.

Tomorrow I go for a wax, facial and paraffin pedicure. Start at 8am.

Just discovered this wonderful website called www.hellopeter.com/ Divine place to bitch and moan about service delivery. Divine place to compliment service delivery. So I have. Just waiting for a response now.

I think John’s giving me a kindle for Christmas. So excited about that. I also want the latest Bryce Courtney (who snuffed it last week!!!) and a fly fishing rod and reel. So we wait and see.

With farmers you have to be SPECIFIC and to the point with what you want. You have to write them a virtual map, complete with aisle number and geographical co-ordinates. 3 steps to the left 30 steps to the right. Approximately to the extension chords, drill bits and nails and screws. You get my drift?

The dream of: If he loves me, he’ll know what I want. What I really want. Well…to be blunt..it aint NEVER gonna happen. You will wait until the cows come home…you will wait until hell freezes over…you will wait until rigormortis sets in and the worms start chowing you in your grave and still…they need to be bloody told. So after you’ve thrown the tantrum to get their attention (done that), sulked for a day or two (done that too), slammed the plate of food down on the table (done that) sulked again, thrown another tantrum…you’ll start realising nothing works with these farm boys. It confuses them. They can’t understand what they’ve done wrong. So now, I’ve accepted it, I tell him straight. I hand over that list with purpose and determination.

And these poor boys..shame…for the most part..they buy the things on the list. They know they’re in the shit…they can’t fully work out why and so they buy jong…anything to keep the peace. Thats the way it works here in these here parts. The surprise they leave for when the lights go out…that candy cane poking you in your back on Christmas Eve? well…it’s not a candy cane. That’s the surprise!!! SURPRISE!!!

Christmas shopping almost done. One side of the family will have theirs delivered tomorrow. So just the other side to contend with.

anyway, just 5 days until we’re on holiday….

6 responses »

  1. Nice to hear from you countess……

    I keeping forgetting about Aiden going to boarding school next year……..need I ask how you are going to cope without your boy. I feel for you my friend.

    Sent from my iPad

  2. hello Lyska….coping fine with Aidan. am sad, but also understanding what a privilege and blessing it is to have a “normal” child and to be able to have the opportunity to send him to a good school. He’s going to love it….after a while and so will I .

    But… you know me very well…and you know I’m going to be broken for a while. Jinner, what we do for our kids hey?

  3. You do realise you will be able to get the Bryce for yor Kindle – a kinda ‘to me, love me lots’ kinda gift!It’s a winner-wena!
    Glad you hadn’t fallen off the planet, enjoy the precious family time together!

    • wow, true. Of course I can download the latest Bryce on my Kindle. mmmmhhh something to look forward too. thanks for reminding me. I’m going to have to get used to a whole new ball game!! How many books have you got on yours and does it take a while to get used to?

      • At last count 88, I have had it for about 20 months now. I cannot read a paper book again anymore, ever. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE my kindle! There literaaly has been no looking back. I spend less money, kindle books are cheaper and can you get new books wherever you are, whenever you have time; they seriously are the way forward.

  4. My DH is exactly the same. Fortunartely I have finally come to terms with it and don’t expect anything unless I’ve given the precise instructions as you detailed above. There is one thing in its favour though – I always get what I want – sometimes surprise is over-rated 😉

    I had about 120 books on my kindle and had only used up 5%. I deleted quite a few (I download to my PC so always keep a copy there) as it was getting too difficult to manage.

Leave a Reply

