The final countdown…

Standard

Well the countdown has begun, only 6 days until we drop Aidan off at hostel. Thankfully he is very excited and well, ย we’ll go with that. Reality can settle in when he’s lying on the single bed listening to the sounds of 7 other Grade 2 boys breathing in the dark, in the dorm. Except I’ll be 65kms away watching the 8pm M-Net movie on Sunday night trying not to cry. I pray for God’s protection over him.

Boo hoo.

An end of an era. No more jettsetting at a moments notice. No more taking a weeks leave at anytime for a break.

We’ve hit school rules. School regime. Sport. Meetings. A teacher I don’t know from Adam that may or may not give me the time of day.

Oh well, we all have to grow up sometime. New friends to make. New memories to enjoy.

I got quiet a lot a flak this holiday from people who disapproved of me sending Aidan away to boarding school so young. What the fuck am I to do? If that’s the closest decent school, then that’s the closest decent school!

Having kids requires, patience, stamina and a sizable pair of balls.

5 responses »

  1. OMG you will have to be very strong for that. I know I couldn’t do it. But as you say, if that is the only decent school.

  2. I went to boarding school…only from high school, but still I went. I am sure he’s going to have a great time there. It’s like living with your friends 24/7 – what’s not to like? ๐Ÿ˜‰ It’s probably going to be rougher on you than on him.

  3. I am sure that once he settles in he will have a great time! It is only 65 km’s away, less than an hour if it is an emergency. Will be thinking of you all. xx

Leave a Reply

