Michelangelo…..not!

Standard

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned my new hobby?

Painting for 3 hours on a Thursday morning while Molly is at school.

I’m not a naturally gifted painter mind. I have to work at it and paint from photos and pictures.  Very few can paint from a real life scene, those are the really good ones. I bow down to those. Many different styles make artists famous.

I like to just paint and dab those oils on to the board with a palette knife or brush. Sometimes its fun and sometimes it’s just so damn hard.  I find that as soon as someone watches me, I freeze up and start painting like a “git”!

Here is my 1st painting:

DSC02752

and then I decided to do something a little different. A bowl of oranges in front of an open window, which I took 2 months to paint and then in a fit of frustration, I painted a dark backdrop in about 5 minutes. This is what that looked like:

DSC02754

and then this morning about an hour ago, I started another painting at home. Three men on bicycles. IT IS NOT ANYWHERE NEAR COMPLETED! Just the beginning base coat and colours. Ohhh but this whole painting lark is just divine. Loving it. Feel guilty enjoying it so much. And yes, let me just own the guilt. I love feeling guilty, makes it all worthwhile.

This is the uncompleted work in progress: (hectically wishy washy I know!):

DSC02757

anyway, just thought I’d share this little hobby of mine.

4 responses »

  1. Your first painting made me think of Van Gogh and Monet – something about the trees. But I love the look of your current project.

  2. They are really good! Love the oranges, the dark background / sadness but bright / happy in the front! Not good with words. Hope it make sense!

Leave a Reply

