Dear M, do you remember being 20?

Standard

Dear M,

Today I met Johnz in town at the Weaner Sale. He sold heifers and some tollies. I remember mentioning going to a weaner sale to a True Townie Friend, and I recall her asking me if they sell weaner sausages at the weaner sale? I replied, No in a clipped tone and tried not to laugh/snort in her face. Weaners are cattle, dumb ass! But no, M, I didn’t say that, even though I wanted to. But in all fairness, how would she have known that?

I took a little happy pill, to calm me down before lunch. Someone rattled me with some news this week and I feel a little anxious. Anyway the pill must have helped, because Aidan asked me why I was being particularly nice today? The few Gins and Tonics and the pill hasn’t worn of yet, so I found his question rather amusing.

After the sale and after our delicious steak lunch, I met a girl who is studying in Pretoria and is doing a farming, veterinary practical on a cousins farm. What shocked me the most, is that she is an adult (20 years old) and born in the nineties! Holy crap that was, like 5 minutes ago! I was in my 2nd year of studying in 1993! I still feel 20. Hell, M, I still feel 18 years old.

But chatting to an over enthusiastic, naive yet excited about life, unjaded person is sweet and refreshing. I felt like telling her to keep her outlook on life for as long as possible. But you and I both know that it won’t last. She too will get dropped and let down by a man, she’ll suffer disappointments and get hurt. But aren’t you envious M? Such a happy time of our lives, being 20? I remember you were kissing Steve and Chris every alternative night, and I was kissing John until he left for his Civils practical year in Umtata. Then all hell broke loose, and I kissed a lot of boys that year.

To be rather honest, I kissed a lot of boys in 2nd year and was pissed for a large part of that year too. Truth be told, studying and exams is but a faded distant memory. I just remember the socializing and flirting at Barneys, Ziggy’s and Cassidy’s on Friday Nights, Saturdays and lazy Sunday afternoons. If you flirted just  right, you could score a free drink with no strings attached.

M, do you remember me living in that awesome beachfront flat with a sea view in 2nd avenue? A lot of shit went down in that flat. Minty broke up with Brett that year and then she went on a rampage with built, sporty boys in fast cars? Cassandra lost her virginity and John came back to study for his 3rd and final year. When I think of that flat, I remember giving John a spare key for the side gate of the building. I never gave him a key to the actual flat, he always had to knock and wait for me to open for him. His farm Hilux bakkie was stolen one night at about half ten, while he’d come for “coffee”.

We couldn’t very well say to his folks that the bakkie must have been stolen during a dry humping session, now could we M? Instead, after a quick conversation, we decided that he’d come by for a cup of coffee. I tell you, M, John’s folks were no fools and I reckon they put two and two together. But they were too polite to question the alibi!

oh well, always fun to go down memory lane.

Hope things well in Durbs. I loved your photo of Ben swimming in the sea.

love

Countesskaz

One response »

  1. Cassandra lost her virginity more than once?

    We used to call it Coffee and Cake. Especially when we were in res, if a girl asked a guy back to her room for coffee, we’d all say coffee and cake with a knowing look, nudge nudge wink wink.

Leave a Reply

