on my Princess and my nuclear physicist/ Springbok/Protea/ olympic swimmer

Standard

Haven’t written for a while. So this morning I decided to read through some of my old blog posts.

And…well there’s no other way to say this……but bloody hell I can be funny. I made my self laugh out loud. I do think I share far, far, far, too much. But.. there you go. I have always worn my heart on my sleeve.

The thing that struck me the most was how I’ve subtely changed. More mature? older and wiser? Am definitely not sweating the small stuff.. excuse the cliché.

Because it’s the end of the year, my tolerance levels are more frayed than usual. Dumb fucks that wouldn’t usually worry me…are sort of getting on my “noombies” at the moment. So I’m digging deep and clinging onto my sanity for dear life. I’m talking white knuckles clinging on. Its far better this year than in previous years.

All my chickens are back in the nest. Fetched Aidan on Friday. Love having him home. Although, him,  being home does sort of hinder what I watch on TV. Also I have to plan meals now. Does that make me a bad mother because I’m moaning about such trivial stuff?

No, I didn’t think so. I’ve long since accepted that those that try and paint an idyllic life are those that are insecure, have whining brats and most probably have husbands that dip their wicks in someone else’s candlewax if you know what I mean 😉 !

Christmas is my favourite time of the year. I can shop guilt free. I get to see my annoying family. (Whom I miss and wish I saw more often). I get to bond with my amazing seventeen year old niece who is going to save the world! What an amazing young woman. So balanced, kind, highly intelligient, beautiful, a Christian, and intuitive. Also slightly cheeky and seventeen going 27! And my wonderful nephew slash Godchild. Thirteen and full of testosterone. Such a difficult time for a boy. Not a boy yet not quiet  a man.

My Molls has grown an awful lot this year. I think it’s a combination of Aidan being away at school and her getting lavished with our attention and of course her school which has played a great part in her growing communication skills.

Aidan has matured into a level headed, independent and kind boy. His extra murals have all reported emerging leadership skills and kindness towards his team mates. If truth be told, I think only the leadership column was ticked and in true motherly fashion I read and interpreted it into the following: “Aidan has great potential to rule and lead the country into a new and bright future as the President, and in his career as a nuclear physicist that finds the cure to some deadly disease, after he has played for the Springboks, Proteas and swum side by side with Chad le Clos at the Olympics.”

Ah well. At the end of the day…if you have two perfect children, you have two perfect children!

please excuse me while I go and stop the fighting and turn the volume of the TV down. I can’t bear to watch or listen to anything  Ice Age again…

 

 

3 responses »

  1. Lovely to see you’re back. Of course we all have perfect children – I mean they are our progeny aren’t they?

    We don’t have tv reception so I keep buying more children’s dvd’s just so I don’t have to watch the same one yet again. Have you got the xmas Ice Age? I bought some xmas themed dvd’s last year and cleverly put them away with the xmas decorations so they will be fresh and exciting when I take them out in another couple of days.

    Have a fun time!

  2. Great to see you, you have been quiet.
    All our children are perfect in our eyes that’s what being a Mom is all about loving them just the way they are.
    Enjoy the holidays and have fun with all the family.

Leave a Reply

