Mommy bloggers hear us roar…

Standard

thanks to the Reluctantmom for the challenge.http://reluctantmom.wordpress.com/2013/12/12/mommy-bloggers-hear-us-roar/#comment-11698. am not sure I quiet fit into the mommy blogger category but anyway…

What are you working on right now?

I’m busy reading the 2nd book in Ken Folletts latest trilogy. Winter of the World. The 1st book was awesome and there was so much information in it, I was glad when I finished it. The second seems to be easier to digest and I can’t put it down. Also I’m working up enough energy to pack Aidans school clothes away for next year. They’ve been on the spare room bed for about a week.

Where did the idea for The Fat Diaries Blog come from?

  • well….I’m fat.
  • I LOVE writing
  • I wanted to record my weight loss development
  • that was 3 years ago?
  • I weigh more now then I did then
  • I stopped talking about it coz I’m deeply ashamed of what I weigh

What does your typical day look like?

John and I sometimes wake up at 4am. He makes us tea and we chat and solve the world’s problems. We sleep for an hour or so. Molly sleeps late and Aidan is at boarding school, so generally I have no morning interruptions. Nhoza brings me a cup of coffee at 7:30am.  I drink it and work out my day. This happens 3 times a week. The other mornings I get up at 5am, get ready and take my kids to school. Both attend schools about 100kms away. We generally go to church on a Sunday morning.

Most days I frame, garden, get sent around by John.

How do you bring ideas to life?

I don’t really understand this question. I mean how do I make my ideas come to life? Bring them to what or whom?

My ideas come to life through things I see, things I feel. I love following trends. By following I mean keeping my finger on the latest trends in decor. Not necessary implementing them, due to lack of energy, professional workers and funds. I like to know whats going on. At the moment I’m very into driftwood, bleached wood, recycled practical furniture. Also Annie Sloan paint.

This year has been very much focussed on my new hobby, which is painting in oils. It doesn’t come as naturally to me as writing and so I’ve had to learn discipline. I love art. It totally feeds my soul.

What’s one trend that really excites you?

Green architecture. With recycled wood, wide double volume airy spaces, big windows. Mixing old and new.

Also this (new) 40-year-old trend of not giving a flying fack about things or people who I used to give a flying fack about. It’s rather liberating

What was the worst job you ever had and what did you learn from it?

Well I’d have to say waitressing when I was a student. Used to be verbally abused by a big hairy man.

I learnt how to save money. I learnt that….wait for it, it’s very profound:

“It’s not what you earn…..its what you dont spend!” A mantra I battle with, still to this day. 20 years later.

Also most importantly. “Take care of the cents, and the rands take care of themselves”.

The result. I’m a BIG saver.

If you were to start again, what would you do differently?

I love clothes so I’d love myself enough to watch what I eat and NOT put on weight. I’d have travelled more. (even though I’ve travelled a lot). But generally speaking I’ve made good choices in life.

If you could change one thing in the world, what would it be and how would you go about it?

Such a silly question because it’s so broad. but…. I would change the current exchange rate with the pound. Its hectic and inhibiting. I don’t know how I would do it. I would give Jacob Zuma a retirement package and swear our beloved Lindiwe Mazabuka into office. I think she’s just fabulous.

Tell us a secret.

oooohh. Why do I have such a dirty mind? The other day I had to give a code to someone on the phone and say A for alpha, D for delta etc etc etc. But all that came to my mind were rude words such A for anus, P for penis, S for sex, F for fanny etc. I was both disgusted with myself and convulsed with laughter at the same time. I really have a warped sense of humor..

What are your three favorite online tools or resources and what do you love about them?

Pinterest – I rather fancy Pinterest. Its just brimming with ideas.

Facebook- I’m a facebook whore. I contribute the odd thing but personally prefer stalking best.

Instagram- my new favorite toy that chows up all my free gigs

What is the one book that you recommend people should read and why?

I’m going to be like all “hipster” and like all cool and say anything by Dr Seuss. whom I adore.

But my all time recommendation would be any children’s novel that encourages a child to read. Enid Blyton, Laura lee Hope, Jk Rowling, CS Lewis, Louisa May Alcott, LM Montgomery etc etc.

I also recommend the Bible. The book of Ecclesiastes is most profound and wise. Also the book of Song of Songs. An erotic celebration of sexual love. 50 shades of grey in biblical times. But far better written and more poetic.

I think as a school girl a book that had an impact on me was “My Traitors Heart” by Rian Malan

The Poisonwood bible also stands out. Dance with a Poor Mans Daughter.

so many great books, who can choose?

Three people we should follow on Twitter and why?

I’m on Twitter but not often enough.

  1. Marianne Thamm

MarianneThamm@MarianneThamm

2. Trevor Noah

Trevor Noah@Trevornoah

3. Kim Kardashian. Please don’t judge me, but I’m a huge fan. I was going to type in Gareth Cliff but I prefer Kim K. Its just so easy. Mindless entertainment. Lovely lovely lovely.

When was the last time you laughed out loud? What caused it?

I laughed out loud last night when a friend and I were chatting on whatsup. She told me she’d just finished blowing her husband when her 5-year-old daughter walked in. She jumped off him, arse in the air and pretended to look for the TV remote.

Who is your hero?

I don’t think I have a hero but if I had to choose it would be Mandela.

Molly’s teacher, Erica W.

and my “adopted” uncle Bruce.

I nominate

  1. Charly’s bird over at https://charliesbird.wordpress.com/
  2. Cat over at http://juggelingactoflife.blogspot.com
  3. cupcake mummy and fish http://cupcakemummy.wordpress.com/

cheers for now

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

