Howzit!

Standard

At the moment I’m stuck in a bit of minor dilemma. It’s a great dilemma to be in. One I’d choose anyday to the other dilemma’s I’ve been in.

A few weeks ago Aidan was chosen to play for the u/9 cricket squad. 24 boys out of 80. Now anyone at an all boys school will tell you, that competition is tough. Boys are competitive. Boys that run the fastest, can spin a top with skill, can score the most tries etc, are held in the highest esteem. Almost revered. In a nutshell, boys simply LOVE to be the best. Or the strongest. Or the quickest.

Anyway back to my point. When he phoned to give us the news we congratulated him and secretly, in the privacy of our home did a jig and dance while we clapped our hands together in delight.

And so the life of sport begins, we thought. John and I discussed in detail of how we would be cool like Spud’s parents and pack a coolerbag with gin, tonic and blocks of ice. Oh, and cram some lemon wedges in somewhere. We planned to do a Mexican wave too. And laugh uproariously at jokes we made with the other parents.

We’ve since learned that drinking while watching school boy cricket is frowned upon.

Anyway, so there we have Aidan is his new cricket squad and I’m faced with a dilemma. To buy or not to buy ALL the cricket equipment. Dont get me wrong, I’m all for buying sports equipment. I am. It’s just that it’s so expensive and just handing it over on a platter, without it being for his birthday or christmas pressie, just blows my mind. What lesson am I teaching my child.

Easy come, easy go?

  • Cricket bat R500, check
  • Cricket bag R350 check
  • Cricket balls R70 a pop, he has 4, check
  • Cricket gloves R200 check

all he needs is a ball box R20, helmet R300 and cricket pads Rnot sure? about R300

that excludes the school cricket shirts, hat and socks I had to buy. That was R1000

I bought it all with pleasure.

So should I buy the remaining pieces of  3 cricket equipment?

Will I be teaching him a good lesson. John is against it as he said they all had to share when he was a schoolboy. Nowadays all the kids have their own equipment.

What to do? What to do?

C’mon…what to do?

 

6 responses »

  1. I know what it’s like to go to school in second hand uniforms, and to borrow someone elses sporting equipment. It sucks. That was our situation and I appreciated the fact that I was even in school and could do sport, but if you are able to buy it for him, do.

    You could work a deal with him, ask him to do chores, ‘earn it’ in a sense.

    But please trust me when I say, if you CAN buy those last 3 items, do.

  2. My tuppence: all 3 outstanding pieces are protective safety gear, not luxuries. I would get them for him so I was sure he was always as safe as possible.

  3. I’m the kind of parent that buys whatever they need, but I have one rule: you WILL do this sport until your kit is too small for you.
    Regards
    Charlotte
    aka The Stilettomum
    0838627369
    thestilettomum.wordpress.com

    Please ignore typos as this message was sent from my BlackBerry® wireless device

  4. I would say you’ve gone this far, may as well go the whole hog. As long as he understands that he is in it for the duration and doesn’t drop out after a term like my son did.

  5. Oh what a lovely dilemma. I can feel you smiling as you typed this.

    I like the idea of chores to earn the kit and definitely has to stick with it.

    I overheard some mothers discussing the cost of pointe shoes yesterday, fortunately I have several years to go before I’ll have to deal with that (very huge) expense.

Leave a Reply

